Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Madness 468

- Please Click Onto The Banner Above To Help Support This Web Site -

- Thank You -

- HOME -

The History Of Sewaren


- Click Here To View an Authentic Stock From The Sewaren & Carteret (Central New Jersey) Railroad Company. (Dated 1899). -

- Click Here For A Picture Of A Picture Of A Ticket From The Old Train Stop In Sewaren, And Woodbridge. -


There has been A lot Of Speculation Over The Years Where Sewaren Got Its Name From. There Have Been 2 Different Stories In Particular That Provide The Same Amount Of Strong, Credible Evidence. The First Story Is That The Dutch Settlers In Woodbridge Township Referred To The Land Where Sewaren Is, As SHEAWANNHACKEY, Which In Dutch Means "LAND OF THE FAN SHAPED SEA SHELLS." This Is A Possibility, Because At The Time, In The 16OO "s The Arthur Kill, Or The Sewaren Bay Had A Large Population Of Shellfish. It should also be mentioned that In the Dutch Language, the Word "SEWAN" Refers to Merchandise, Or Large Markets.

There Is Also A Second Story That Is Probably Stronger Than The First Story. When Sewaren Was Considered A Resort Community, The Majority of the Waterfront Was Owned By C.W. Boynton And The Boynton Family (Boynton Beach.) The Boynton's Had A Head Worker That Was Very Smart, And Was Very Knowledgeable About Certain Things. This Man’s Name Was Warren. The Story goes that People who were looking for answers about something were told To "SEE WARREN". Mr. Warren was able to answer everyone’s questions, that he became quite well-known. People who Came off the Train through Woodbridge, or ferry eventually said "I HAVE COME HERE TO SEE WARREN" ETC. It Is Assumed That through The Years, The Name SEWAREN From SEE WARREN.

The Boynton Family was a Wealthy and Prominent Family in Woodbridge Township. Like a few other Industrialists in the Area, the Boynton’s made their money from the Natural Resources that Woodbridge Provided. The Boynton Clay And Fire Brick Company, Which Was Located Near Smith's Creek funded most of the money to build up Boynton Beach. The Boynton Clay Pits Were One Of Many Clay Pits In The World-famous Woodbridge Township clay industry.
The Family Also Owned & Operated The Boynton Lumber Company, adjacent to Boynton Beach, where Motiva/Shell is Today.

As I Said Before, the Waterfront Section Of Sewaren, On Cliff Road, Between Ferry Street and Debra Place was once considered A Resort. At That Time It Was Called Boynton Beach PARK, Named After The Boynton Family, Who Had Owned and Operated It. People from as far As New York came To Boynton Park to spend their Vacations. With the perfect Beach Landscape of the Waterfront, People made use Of the Bay. Visitors could enjoy Swimming, Fishing, Boating, And Other Water Activities. There Was Even a Pavilion That Was Called Pierces’ Point (Now Shell Oil Company Property) which was the Location for most of Boynton Beach's Hotspot's. The Large pavilion provided a Large Number of People to Watch Regattas, and swim meets. Other activities included card playing parties and Festive Parties.

The Sewaren Land & Water Club (also Known As the Sewaren Democratic Club) was a Popular Social Meeting Place. Many fun activities, such as dances, were held every Saturday Night from June until Labor Day. The Sewaren Land And Water Club (located off of Holton Street), was one of Woodbridge Township’s Finest recreational sport locations. Unfortunately, the building was totally destroyed by Hurricane "Carol" in 1954 or Hurricane “Diane” in 1955. The water was so high, that it lifted the building off of its wooden foundation. After a few days, the building floated away and came to a stop in front of the Dowling house on Cliff RD. (third house from Holton, going towards Ferry.) A few days after the storm passed, a gas line that connected to the building exploded & burnt unnoticed for 4 days, until the gas was shut off. This was caused by a few kids playing with matches.
Believe it or not, there still is a Piece of the building's pavilion that still stands today. If You Are On
Cliff Road on the River Walk, there are a Few Dock Pilings sticking out Of the Bay. While there is only a small area, this is one of the few remaining pieces of The Boynton Beach Resort. The exact Location Is On Cliff Road, where Holton Street intersects.

Mr. R.O. Acker rented hundreds of Boats to Water enthusiasts. Ackers Landing provided many Fisherman & Boaters with Rowboats to use all day long. The same area where the Ferry Slip was in a major part of The Boynton Beach Resort. Located there were several Bath Houses for Swimmers. Acker's Landing was by this area.

St. John’s Episcopal Church, located on the corners of Woodbridge Avenue & Cliff Road was built in 1895, making it The First Church in Sewaren. St. John's Is Part Of The Trinity Church Of Woodbridge.

The House that is presently located at 537 West Avenue, next door to the Sewaren Corner Deli was once located on Port Reading Avenue, when Port Reading Avenue was known as “The Blazing Star Trail”. This House was the Headquarters for New Jersey Governor George Livingston.  The house on West Avenue was used as a meeting place for Governor Livingston and Revolutionary soldiers & Militia Men, after they arrived from Staten Island York, around 1785.
There was even a Hotel called The Sewaren House Hotel. The Sewaren House was owned by a man named Robert Deforest. The Sewaren House was built in 1878 and provided lodging for
Boynton Beach visitors. In 1911, Deforest Applied for a Liquor license, however the Woodbridge Town Council, under advisement from Mr. Boynton turned the application down fearing that “A Saloon Would Demoralize The Atmosphere."
The Sewaren House was operated until 1913 and was demolished a few years later.
Boynton Beach Park Resort was described as "An Exclusive Place, That attracted many upscale people." People arrived from Ferry, Railroad, Trolley, Carriage, and eventually Car to Vacation in Sewaren.

Casmir “C.W.” Boynton, the Entrepreneur, and the community man went forward to the Woodbridge Town Council to propose a trolley service to travel through Sewaren and Perth Amboy. The Trolley came from Rahway, worked its way through Woodbridge where it came into Sewaren. The Trolley went onto West Avenue, To Holton Street then to Perth Amboy.

The Ferry Would Come To Sewaren Once In A While Before It Made Regular Stops At The Sewaren House Hotel Every Day.

The Rail Road that runs between West Avenue, and East Avenue, used to be a Passenger Train. This was part of the Central New Jersey Rail Road Line. The CNJ line was built in 1891 and ran from the Coal & Petroleum industry in Port Reading & Carteret. The Sound Shore Extension and the New Jersey Rail Road Extension had originally branched to the Sewaren Line. In 19O5 the rail road was sold to a Private Party. The passenger trains ran from the New Jersey Shore Coast, all the way to New York. In 1875 a contract was awarded to build a "Unique" Station between Newark and Perth Amboy. Sewaren was chosen as a location for this Station. The "Blue comet" ran all the way from Atlantic City - To - New York. The Train Station was on the corner of Woodbridge Avenue and West Avenue, across the Street from the Corner Deli, alongside the Rail Road Tracks. The Rail Road Station was there until a fire destroyed it. Now, there are Houses Built Where the old train Station was.
There were 2 separate Ferry ports in Sewaren. The first one was a major Ferry service. The second Ferry was more or less of a Small Boat that ran people back and forth, from
Perth Amboy, to Woodbridge. The Ferry just ran from one side of Woodbridge Creek, to the other side of the Creek. The Ferry Owner Charged people 2 Cents for the ride that only consisted of a wooden platform being pulled by a cable, 40 Feet.
The Major Ferry transported people back and forth, usually from
New York to Sewaren. The ferry was a Steam Ship. A ferry slip was located alongside The Boynton Beach Resort. The Ship would stop at Boynton's on a Daily basis. The Ferry Slip was right next to a Pavilion used For Recreation, such as Dancing and other Fun. People would get off of The Ferry and spend their summer at Boynton Beach.

In the Early to Middle 1800's, most of Sewaren was Farmland owned By Sea Captains.
Captain John Holton (
Holton street) had Owned a Farm South of Woodbridge Avenue, where Sewaren Avenue, Arbor Street, South Robert Street, and Dunlop Place (Charles Street) Now Are. South of that, Captain Samuel Ellis Had Owned Property up To the Perth Amboy Border, Where the Shell Oil Tank Farm Now Is. When Ellis Died, He left The Property to his Family. Later on, the Land the Family received was sold to Several Different Buyers. Shell Oil and Vulcan Detinnings (C.P. Chemical co.) purchased much of the property. Some houses were built and A facility that Manufactured Ovens were built. A few Acres of the Land was willed To The First Presbyterian Church of Woodbridge (the White Church) in case they ever needed to build a bigger Church. However, the land is swamp and at the edge of the Woodbridge River. In 1999, The Church sold the land to the NJ State Wetlands Commission.
In the 1870's, Mr. Henry Brewster purchased the Land that is now occupied from
Old Road to Austin Street from George Wicteer.

The Landscape back then was so much different than it is today. Most of The Land was Farms, Trees, and Marshlands. People used to hunt where the Generating station on Cliff Road is. Even when the Eastern Europeans came in the Early 1900's, the Land was still used for Farming. It was Common to have Cows, Pigs, Chicken, And Crops Growing. Even though there was a few More Houses, The Property extended. There was Only Two or Three houses on A Block. This lasted up until the Late 1960's. A man even Grew Salt Hay in the Marshes off of South Robert Street and went around sellin it off his Truck to the Locals. In the Same area, there was a Large Park that even had Springs with very Fresh, Tasty Water. This attracted many people.

People ask, "What did Sewaren Look Like 50 - 100 years ago?" A reasonable answer is to take away 75 % of the houses.

In 1928 Shell Oil Company bought most of the Property where Boynton Beach was. Mr. Boynton sold 145 Acres of Land To Shell. In fact there was a big Ferris Wheel where now the Locker Room where Shell Oil Area D is (The Former Ker-Mcgee Royal Heat Petroleum Tanks, And Docks, Now Owned By Shell Oil Company). Along Side The Ferry Street Captain Carlson Park, stood houses at one time. These houses were Described as bungalow-sized.
Shell Attorneys promised
Woodbridge Shell would provide Many jobs with Good Wages. The Announcement Of Shell's Plans made Sewaren Residents very interested. There were supporters and opposes who both crowded Town Hall to listen to the Hearings.
On April 8, 1929, Shell Oil Company was allowed to move into Sewaren. This was a great benefit for Many workers especially when The Great Depression began a Few Years Later.

With the arrival of the many Industries alongside the Arthur Kill, saw the beginning of the End for Boynton Beach. Although the popularity Decreased, many of the Popular sites still stood to the 194O'S - 195O'S.
Ackers Landing lasted a few more Years after
Boynton Beach.
Another Reason for the Demise of the Popular
Boynton Beach and Ackers Landing was just plain lack of Interest. As Time went on, People started to go to other Shore Resorts Such as Asbury Park and Point Pleasant. Ownership of cars allowed visitors to travel farther away.

On Cliff Road there are many large, Detailed Houses that still Stand. Most of them are Victorian-Styled. The front lawns are Beautifully landscaped. The distance from some houses to Cliff Road is over 200 Feet. Most of the Driveways are asphalt, but Lined with Stone. These Houses have a lot of History to themselves. Behind the homes on Cliff Road, There is a Remote, narrow, access Road that runs Parallel to Cliff Road, beginning on Ferry Street, ending where Broad Street, and East Avenue Meet, near Woodbridge Avenue. On This Road there are some "shacks" that are now used as sheds, or garages. It is said that Rich People owned The Big Houses on Cliff Road, which still overlooks the Waterfront and the "shacks" in the Rear, along the Access Road belonged to their Servants. The Alley way, often referred to as "The Lanes", or “Alley” were used by delivery persons to bring goods to the houses. The Deliveryman rode on his horses and carriage through the alleyway to deliver goods just about everyday.
One House in particular, the "Big White House" is arguably the largest structure On
Cliff Road.
This House was owned by the Tomb Family. The Tomb's owned and operated The Tomb's lamp shade Factory, around the Corner on
Ferry Street. The Lamp Shade Factory Is Now Owned By Associated Restaurant Supply Company. Even though the Tomb's house is now a Multi - Family Dwelling, It is still very much original. Many of these Houses are Beautiful and kept up well. They were built in the 1800’s.

Moby Dicks was originally called The White House. The Old White House, owned by the Joe, Archie, & Sadie Andersch, was a popular social meeting place for people that lived in Sewaren. Also after the development of the Oil, & coal Factories in Sewaren, a lot of the workers on the Ships went to the White House, as did the locals from Sewaren & they interacted.  The building was first used as a warehouse for The Zylka Funeral Home in neighboring Perth Amboy.
The Andersch's operated the White house from 1940 until it was destroyed by a fire in 1970.

2 Other Taverns Were In Sewaren.
Turk's Tavern, at the end of Ferry Street and Ted's Tavern, at the Entrance to Royal.

Now For history concerning the time frame where a large portion of you readers may be more Familiar With.
Sewaren has always been a part of Woodbridge Township, but on 2 separate Occasions, Sewaren could have succeeded from
Woodbridge.
In February in 1922, the neighboring City Of
Perth Amboy tried to Annex Sewaren from Woodbridge. The response from Sewaren citizens was so overwhelming, they petitioned against the Bill. Woodbridge Lawyers Successfully fought to keep Sewaren.
Then in 1961, a Small group of Sewaren and Port
Reading Residents started a movement to Separate Sewaren and Port Reading from Woodbridge. This new Town was to be named Port Warren.
Even though the Separatists fought hard for many months in Court and before the State, their Movement Ended in May of 1962 as their case was Declared Unconstitutional.

There were Two Elementry Schools in Sewaren. Sewaren Avenue School #12 was used by children living on the Southern End of Woodbridge Avenue and Waterfront. From there, The Kids would be promoted to Woodbridge Middle School. It was sold in the early 1970's to A firm that sold Computers. It was abandoned in the late 1980's. Airtec air conditioning rented the basement. In 1995, The First Baptist Church of Woodbridge Purchased the facility and moved in 1997.
Children living on the Northern End of Sewaren and
West Avenue went to Saint Anthony's Grammar School, formerly located on West Avenue and Milos Way in Port Reading. From there, The Kids would be Promoted to Fords Middle School. Saint Anthony's Parish Re-Purchased The School in the 1970's. In 1996, Amerada Hess purchased the property and Leveled the School Building to make a Parking lot For the Refinery.

In 1969, Glen Cove Avenue School #28 was built on a playground between Central Ave. and Old Road. this new School accommodated Students who previously attended School #12 & St. Anthony's School.
In 1988 The School was renamed
Mathew Jago Elementry School #28, dedicated to a Former Principal, Mr. Matthew Jago.
In the First Half of the Twentieth Century, up in to the 1970's, there was several Stores In Sewaren, particularly
Woodbridge Avenue And West Avenue.

There were 2 Gas Stations - A Sunoco and a Chevron. There was a Station where the Corner Deli is and across the street where the Office Building is, was Mickey Galamb's Gas Station.
Woodbridge and West Avenue were Throughways for trucks going back n’ forth from the Highways to the Industries.
The Superior Diner was on Woodbridge Avenue, across the Street from where the Peppermint Tree Nursery School now is, was a great place for Ice Cream.
Fanny Firetag and her Aunt owned and operated Firetag's Store which was located on the Corners of Woodbridge & Sewaren Avenue. Firetag’s was a Butcher Shop that Sold other Food as well.
Mrs. Kushner ran the Sugar Bowl, Located where PJ's Deli Now is, was somewhat a delicatessen and Candy Store.
Across From Firetag's, next to the Superior Diner was a "Milk Machine", which was a Self-Serve Vending Machine That Sold Dairy Products. The Milk Machine was a popular hangout for Kids as they got off the school bus.
On Old Road and the corner of Bobby Court, (the red house) was a Deli owned by Mr. Stanley Jankowski. Mr. Jankowski sold many goods including - meat products, small toys, and penny candy.
Carmella Giordano owned and operated Mella's Mop Shop, a Hair Salon where all Of the Local Women went to Get There Hair Styled And Talk Gossip. Mella's was where La Bouna Pizzaria now is.
Who could forget about Spoony's? Spoony The Barber had Spoony's on Woodbridge Avenue, Across The Street From The Post Office. Spoony Was Well Known For His 10 Minute Haircuts. He Held a Record for giving the Fastest Haircuts.

On The Waterfront, Kids went fishing and Swimming in the Bay. An Old, Scruffy Man named "Captain Jack" used to rent row boats to people for 50 cents an hour. His docks were on Cliff Road, next to Jan & Jerry's Marina. A&A Tree Service now owns and operates a marina and Boat Yard.

The Main, Ethnic Majority of Early Sewaren was Made Up of Northern Europeans, and Scandanavians, Such As Dutch, English, Scottish, Germans, Norwegians, Danish, Irish, Made Sewaren Their Home. Eastern Europeans, Such As Slovaks, Ukrainians, Hungarians, Polish, Italians Etc, and a Few Other European Ethnicities Made their way into Sewaren. The Dutch were the first Europeans to colonize Woodbridge and the surrounding area. They made their way into Woodbridge from the Arthur Kill and sailed up what we now call Woodbridge Creek & Woodbridge River. The first settlers settled on the banks of the Woodbridge River in Port Reading or Sewaren.  

 

However, Before any European Settler had Made THeir way into Sewaren, or any Other Part of Woodbridge Township, the Land had been the Home of the Sheyhichbi Sanhican Tribe of the Lenni Lenape Indians. These Indians Had Occupied the Land Alongside the Raritan River to the Arthur Kill.
The Indians and the European Settlers got along well. The Natives welcomed the settlers on their land to share it. The two worked together and had a good relationship. Unfortunately, things changed when a White Man was killed supposedly by an Indian. After that, the relationship turned sour and both parties were not as close as they once were. After time, though, they coexisted and lived friendly side by side without any problems.

 




Below Are Historical Pictures Of Sewaren. All Photos Are From, And Courtousy Of
Several Woodbridge Township Historical Books and Other Sources I have Established and Maintained.

- AND NO PLACE ELSE

to view the pictures, just simply click onto the description of each photograph.

-


- The Sewaren train station. On the corners of Woodbridge & West Avenues -
- Dated 189O'S -


- West & Woodbridge Avenues-1800's. -


- Another Picture Of The Sewaren Train Station. -


- People Ariving At Sewaren. -
- Boynton Beach Was A VERY Popular Spot In The Late 19th Century & Early 20th Century. Here People Are Either Getting Off Of The Train Station, Or Going To The Beach, Or Pier. -
- Dated 1900's


- Here Is A Picture Taken Of The Boynton Family. -


- 449 west avenue turner house this house was a boarding house that mr. warren lived in. as you may recall as mentioned earlier mr. warren a worker for the boynton family. it is believed that sewaren was named after warren. Daniel Turner(1811 - 1887), The Man of the House, Was The Builder for Sewaren's Early Construction. was a Farmer in nearby Port Reading (Turner Street where School #9 is now. -


- Here is another House That Belonged to Another Turner, Harry Turner (1857 - 1921). It is On East Avenue and still is to this day. The first house south of Woodbridge avenue on the east side of East Aveneu with a brick facade. -


- Another Picture of The Harry Turner House. This Picture Shows Harry Turner with his Grandson, Harry Howell. Prior to Living On East Avenue, Harry Lived on East Avenue.
Dated, 1920's.(Photo & Information Cortousey of Mr. Todd Howell, Woodbridge.)


- The Sewaren House Hotel. -
- This Is A Full Frontal Picture Of The Hotel That Many People Spent Their Summers In During 1878 - 1913. -
- Dated 1900's -


- the Sewaren House, Also Known As The Sewaren Hotel.
People Who Spent Their Summers At Sewaren's Boynton Beach Usually Stayed Here. The Sewaren Hotel Lasted From 1878 - 1913. -
- Dated 189O'S -


- The White House Lounge. THEE "Watering Hole" of Sewaren 1940 - 1975. This Picture is from 1957. Can you guess what is the make of the Car in front?. Moby Dick's stands on the property currently.
(A very special thank you goes out to Rich Andersch, one of the sons of the former owner.)


- Another take of The White House Lounge. THEE "Watering Hole" of Sewaren 1940 - 1975. -

- the sewaren land and water club. this was also known as "the sewaren democratic club" the land & water club was a social organization that as located at the part of boynton beach known as pierces point. the area is now occupied by the shell oil company. -


- boynton beach Advertisement Poster -
- Dated 189O'S -


- Ackers Landing. During Hot Spring And Summer Days People That Were Vacationing At Boynton Beach, Or Even Sewaren Residents Can Rent Row Boats For The Whole Day. Mr. Acker Had Hundreds Of Boats On Hand So Users Can Spend Hours On The Arthur Kill. -
- Dated 189O'S -

- early sewaren waterfront. as you can see the many docks & boat slips. Ackers Landing used to supply rowboats for water - recreation enthusiasts.
boating, swimming, fishing were some of the many activities. -
- Dated 189O'S -



More Boats in The Water. -

- Ackers Landing. -


- A Poster Advertising Ackers Landing. -



- Acker's Landing From the Water. -

- Another Picture of Ackers Landing. -


- The Shore Of Boynton Beach, Sewaren -


- An Artist's Painting Of Boynton Beach -


Here, A Few Friends Are Sitting On The Beach In Sewaren. Early 1900's -


- Great Group Picture of the Sewaren Boy Scout Troop in 1952. -

- the early sewaren public library. the building was once the home of the christian science church. the library was part of the woodbridge township public library system, untill a few years ago when funding fell short, and the township library system was forced into closing the sewaren branch, as well as other branches in woodbridge township. a group of citizens joined forces to succesfully rebuild the library, which is now called the free sewaren public library. -


- 538 west avenue marsh - smith house this house is on west avenue in between the corner deli, and the library. this house was the headquarters of new jersey governer phillip carteret. this house served as a meeting place between the governer, several dignitaries and union soldiers who were coming to new jersy from staten island, new york. -

- One of the Best/Rarest Photos in My Collection. Woodbridge Avenue in Sewaren at an apparent Toll Both, or Possibly The Railroad Intersection. -


- This is a Picture of the Ticket Booth at Boynton's. People Purchased Tickets Here for Admission to the Ferris Wheel & Other Amusements in the Park. Very Rare Photograph. -


- Very Hard to Find Photograph. Here is the Shoreline, taken From Cliff Road near the Jetty. This shows the area that is presently built-up. -


- The Sewaren Waterfront in 1912. At the tip of the Penninsula. -


- This is A Large Restaurant at Boynton Beach. Many Hungry People are Flocking to It!-


- Picnic Grounds. -


- Here is a view of the Waterfront at Boynton Beach. There is a wooden Pier, in which persons would walk out to their boats. Also Shown is Ackers Landing.


- The Dancing Pavillion at Boynton Beach. -


- The Old Light House in Nearby Perth Amboy. -


- Here Is The Ferris Wheel At Boynton Beach. It Was Popular, Especialy In The Summer Time. -



- Another Picture of the Ferris Wheel. -

- Kids Riding On The Bamboo Slide At Boynton Beach. Early 1900's -


Here Is A Sign That Shows How Things Were Years Ago. During Segregation, Black People Were Not Alowed To Go On The Beach With White People, Therefor They Were Given A Day To Enjoy Boyton Beach. -


- This Was A Food Stand At The Waterfront. When Beachgoers Became Hungry, They Can Just Go Here And Get Hot Dogs & Hamburgers, Or Soda & Drinks. -



- Another Picture of Concession Stands. -


- A Candy Stand At Boynton Beach.


- Tables & Picnic Benches At Boynton Beach. -

- Here Is Another Sign Of The Times. Late 1800's Photograph Of Boynton Beach Vacationers Taking A Boat Ride In A Row Boat. -


- This Ambulance Was On Standby At The Waterfront In Case Of A Bad Event Were To Occur. This Ambulance Also Toured The World, Participating In Stand By For Many Large Events. -


- Here Is Another Picture Of The Sewaren Land & Water Club, Also Named The Democratic Club By A Few. -


- Here Is A Side View Of The Sewaren House Hotel At The Waterfront. 1920's -


- An Early And One Of The Most Popular Ways Of Transportation To Sewaren, The Steamship Ferry. -


- A Picture Of A Local Method Of Transportation, The Trolley. Mr. Boynton Had Made An Agreement With The Electric Company And The Transportation Company To Provide Trolley Service Into Sewaren. -


- Another Picture Of The Sewaren Trolley Service. -


- Another Picture Of Saint John's Episcapol Church, In Sewaren. (1892) -


- map showing the close location of sewaren to many big locations, such as new york and perth amboy.
people that are unfamiliar with this area before the 197O"s are unaware that the city of perth amboy, which borders sewaren was one of the most popular places in the state of new jersey - if not the east coast.
perth amboy was a boom town that was noted for it's shopping districts, as well as a hub for employment with the many industries that were once in amboy.
this map gives the notion that sewaren was a prime location due to the fact that it is between perth amboy, and new york -

- an artist's sketch of the sewaren waterfront. also shown is proposed plans to add to the waterfront. there is a current project being planned for the penninsula that seperates smith's creek from th arthur kill. the heavily weaded area is planned to have a park, nature trail and a walk way. -
- Dated 189O'S -


- the sewaren trolley was one of the first forms of transportation by road. the trolley used to go throuh woodbridge, fords, perth amboy, and then to sewaren -
- Dated 189O'S -

- the ferry that would transport people from new york to boynton beach. in the 1890's, ferry transportation was about the only way to travel long, besides horse. the long pavilion was used for recreational purposes. the small shacks on the water's edge were shower stalls. the ferry would drop off and pick up passengers. most of these pssengers were new yorkers, many of them were wealthy. the ferry dock was located alongside cliff road. the ferry was located between the penninsula and where the boat launch/waterfront pier now stand. -
- this is a picture of another ferry. only, this ferry would transport people across woodbridge creek from perth amboy - to - sewaren. this was a small, simple ferry that was constructed from only simple lumber and wood. it was moved by a cable that ran from the shore lines of perth amboy and sewaren. the cost was only 2 cents. in the early 1900's, a bridge was built, which caused the end of this ferry business. -

- indians fishing. native americans in the sewaren area took advantage of the arthur kill & the raritan river ' s vast supply of shell fish -


- indians fishing. here the natives are making canoes out of wooden logs. -

- lenie lenape indians carving out ceremonial masks from trees. the arthur kill provided a vast supply of fish for these indians so it is much assumed that sewaren was the home for many indian tribes. -


- some of the very first woodbridge township firefighters. the woodbridge volunteer fire department # 1 was formed in 1897.
this may be the very first picture of the newlly organized firefighters -
- Dated 189O'S -


- the first woodbridge fire department apparatus -
water tanks being pulled by horse
- Dated 189O'S -


- C.W. Boynton's Clay Works Factory, In Sewaren -


Clay Ships Docking On The Woodbridge River To Carry Clay From Valentine Brick Company.


- Sunoco Station, corners of Woodbridge & West Avenue dated 1941. -


- Sunoco Station, corners of Woodbridge & West Avenue dated 1941. -


- Howard Johnson's on The Turnpike, Off of Calvin Street. (1950's-60's) Now Roy Rogers & Sunoco -


Shell Oil Company - Sewaren

Shell Oil Company - Sewaren


Public Service Electric & Gas Generating Station - Sewaren


- The Ames Building, On The Corners Of Woodbridge Avenue And Meade Street. 1930's -


- Here Is A Picture Of West Avenue, Near The Railroad Tracks. When This Picture Was Taken, (1930's) There Was No Overpass At The Crossing. A Bridge Was Later Built. This Is Presently Located Between Moby Dick's And Arbor Street. -


- A Group Of Sewaren Friends That Spent Time At Boynton Beach.
Next to The Right Is Tom Horner. -


- These People Are Aboard A Sailboat Docked In Sewaren. -


Visitors (mosty Likely from New York) getting off the ferry, docked at Boynton Beach.


Area Shown Is The Picnic Grove.


Picture Shown is Recreation Building of Boynton Beach


- Swing Sets for Children. -


- The Merry Go round at Boynton Beach. -


Picture Is Of The Trolley Station In Sewaren. Trolleys Were The Most Common Form Of Transportation Around The Sewaren, Area.


Area Shown Is Of The Picnic Grove At Boynton Beach


- A Postcard From Boynton Beach -
Picture Depicted Is Of PSE&G's Sewaren Generating Station - 1950's