Madness 468

- Please Click Onto The Banner Above To Help Support This Web Site -
- Thank You -

- Click Here To Return Home -

Woodbridge Township History

- Interesting Historical Facts Of Woodbridge -

- Woodbridge Township Is Also Reguarded As The Oldest Municipality In The State Of New Jersey, With It"s Origon Dating Back To 1664. Woodbridge Was Origionally Named After Reverend John Woodbridge, Who Was A Popular Priest From Newburry Massachusetts That Lead Settlers From England To America, For Religous Freedom.
Most Of Woodbridge's Earliest Settlers Were From Massachusetts, But There Is Also Speculation That Woodbridge Was Named After Woodbridge, England, A Popular City. Woodbridge Township WAs Settled In 1664 And Became Officaly Chartered On June 1, 1669. The Origonal Land Area Of Woodbridge Included The Area Which Is Now Woodbridge, But However, The Township Origonally Extended Eastward To Include Where The Borough Of Carteret Now Stands. THe Northward Border Was To The Rahway River (Which It Still Is.) The Western Border Extended All Of The Way To Piscatawaytown (Piscataway.) The Southern Border Is Still On The Raritan River And Perth Amboy, As It Origionaly Was.
Later On, The Western Border Was Reduced To Only Include Bonhamtown (Edison Township, Near Middlesex County College Now Stands.)

One Of The Charter Rules Were That At Least 60 Families Must Live In Woodbridge.

There Is Alot Of History In Woodbridge.

- For Example In 1789 The Man Who Would Become The First President Of The United States Of America General George Washington, While Passing Thru New Jersey On His Way To New York For His Presidential Innaguration Stayed At The Cross Keys Tavern With New Jersey Governer Livingston. The Cross Keys Tavern Was Located On Main Street In Woodbridge"s Downtown Area, But Was Later Moved Near Amboy Avenue, Where It Now Stands Behind The 7 - Eleven.

- The James Parker Press On Rahway Avenue Is Noted As Being The First Printer In The State Of New Jersey. James Parker Also Had Ties With Benjamin Franklin, Another Founding Father Of America. Parker's Print Shop Created "The New America", The Firstever Newsletter In The Origional 13 Colonies.

- Woodbridge, Specificaly Fords, Was The Home To The Jersey Blues, A Militia Group That Was Intent On Protecting Colonial New Jersey. The Jersey Blues Were Instrumental To Help The Withdrawl Of British Troops During The Revolutionary War. Besides Making An Impact On Our Independence, The Jersey Blues Provided Other Services To Woodbidge Township Citizens.
The Blues Were A Heroic Force That Were Often Praised By General George Washington And Other Continental Army Officers.
The Blues Were One Of The Only Militias That Went Into Service When Others Refused.
The Blues Fought In The Civil War And Many Other Conflicts.
After The Spanish - American War, The Jersey Blues Started 3 Fire Companies In Woodbridge, Perth Amboy, And Piscataway.

- What may be said to be the first anti-slavery meeting ever held in the United States was held in Woodbridge on the 4th of July, 1783, seven years after the Declaration of Independence and six years before George Washington was inaugurated as President of the United States. This meeting was held on the farm of Moses Bloomfield, a surgeon in the Continental Army, located north of Freeman Street where Barron Avenue runs through Prospect.

- Woodbridge Once Had Worldwide Clay Deposits That Were Used To Create All Types Of Brick. In The Late 1700's And Early 1800's, Shiploads Of Clay Were Being Sent To Other Large American Cities. Infact, The Land Where Woodbridge Center Mall Was Owned By The Almasi Family (Who Now Still Own A Small Parcel Of Land At The Edge.) The Whole Land Was A Huge Clay Bank. There Was Also Several Brick And Block Manufacturers Throughout Woodbridge. In 1825, The Salamander Brick Works Plant Was Built Alongside The Woodbridge River Creek. The Salamander Plant Produced Fire Brick.
The Valentine Brothers Operated The M.D. Valentine Brick Company. Located At The End Of Where Pennval Road Now Is, The Valentine Brick Comany Manufactured Over 4,000,000 Bricks Per Day At It's Highest Point. The Valentine Brick Company Was Started In 1843. In The 1970's The Building Was Destroyed By A Massive Fire. The Building Is Now Owned By Intergraded Industries.
Charles Keasbey, One Of The Keasbey Section Namesakes, Managed A Tile Factory On The Raritan River In Keasbey.
The Crossman Clay Manufacturing Company Manufactured Fire Brick And Drain Pipe In Keasbey. Other Clay Factories In Keasbey Included The Ostrander, Cutter, And C.M. Dally Factory, Adam Webber's Brick Plant In 1895. There Were Also Other Porcelain Fire Factries In Fords.
C.W. Boynton, The Operator Of The Boynton Beach Sewaren Waterfront Resort, Made Firebrick And Sewer Pipe In Sewaren.
In The Beginning, Most Of The Workers Were Of Irish Descent. Later On, More Germans And Other Europeans Were Employed By The Brick Industries. In The Beginning, Workers Were Paid 12 Cents Per Hour, By 1912, Pay Was Up To 15 Cents Per Hour. The General Ceramics Company Paid Their Workers 17 And A Half Cents Per Hour. In 1920, The Brick Industries In Woodbridge Were At Their Highest. With The Addition Of Men Workers, Each Company Had About 150 Horses To Haul The Clay. Also On Hand Were Veterinarians And Blacksmiths To Aid The Horses.

An Interesting Discovery Was Made On The Land Owned By The Late Hampton Cutter, Which Is Now Where Strawberry Hill And Amboy Avenue Are Now Located. Mr. Cutters Clay Pitt Manager, Mr. Roy E. Anderson Uncovered Foot Prints Of Pre - Historic Dinosaurs. There was Supposedlly 4 Prints, About Twenty Inches Long. These Prints Were Supposedly Similiar To Those Of An Elephant. The Measured Strides Were  9 Feet Long. The Foot Prints Were Examined By Numberous Scientists From Museums And Universities Before Being Removed And Taken To Rutgers Universtity, New Brunswick, New Jersey.

- Woobridge Was Location For The First Ever Safety - Engineered Highway System. In 1929, The Connection To Route 1 And Route 35 Was Made Into A "Cloverleaf" Connection. The 2 Highways Are Situated Together Where They Have On Ramps And Off Ramps To Connect To Northbound And Southbound Of Both Highways. .

- Famous And Other Well Known People From Woodbridge Include Captain Kurt Carlsen, A Well Noted Sea Captain. In 1951, Carlsen Made Worldwide Headlines When His Ship "The Flying Enterprise" Was In High Ocean Seas When It Came Into Distress. When Rescuers Arrived They Found That The Ship Was Already Sinking. Captain Carlsen Ordered His Crew To Evacuate The Ship. The Rescuers Urged Carlsen To Leave, But Captain Carlsen Decided To "Stay With The Ship." Finally, At The End When The Ship Was Just About Totally Sunken, Captain Carlsen Evacuated The Ship.
Carlsen Is Also Credited With Saving The Life Of One Of His Crewmen In Another Incident, 3 Years Before. In 1948 A Ship Worker Was Stabed 12 Times Out At Sea. Carlsen, With Little Medical Experience Was Forced To Operate On The Dying Man. Carlsen Saved His Life.
Captain Kurt Carlsen Was A Native Of Alwat Street In Woodbridge. When He Returned Home, The Township Through What Was Called, "The Largest Parade In Woodbridge Township History."

- Click Here For A Web Page With Information & Pictures Dedicated On The Woodbridge Train Wreck -

- As With Any Big Town, Woodbridge Township Has Also Had It's Share Of Tragedies And Disasters Through The Years. One Incident In Paricular Is Still On Of The Worst Disasters In Modern History.The Woodbridge Train Crash Ocurred On Febuary 6, 1951, At Roughly 6:00 p.m. The "Broker" Train #733 From New York, Was Heading Into Woodbridge. The Train Was Overcrowded, With Passengers Standing In The Aisle. During The Same Time Period, The New Jersey Turnpike Was Being Constructed. The Fulton Street Bridge Was Replaced With A Temperary, Much Weaker Bridge. On That Day, There Was A Heavy Rain Storm. Also On That Day, There Was A Substitute Driver That Was Unaware Of The Temporary Bridge. As The Driver Proceded Over The Fulton Street Overbridge, He Went Full Speed, When He Should Have Slowed Down. At The Same Time, The Rain Had Washed Away Much Of The Dirt - Fill That Held The Wooden Bridge Supports. When The "Broker" Crossed Over The Bridge, The Brigde Collapsed, Causing The Train To Crash. In The End, Over 81 People Had Died. Several Others Had Been Injured. Relatives Of Woodbridge Residents That Had Used The Railroad Regulary, Feared For Them. The Whole Event Was So Huge That Fire Departments Were Called From In So Far As Monmouth County And First Aid Units Were Called In From Eastern Pennsylvania. Hundreds Of Woodbridge Civilians Tried To Help In Any Way That They Could. According To Eyewitness Accounts, The Scene Was Described So Grim, That "Due To The Many Casulties, One Of The Local Butchers Had To Supply Wax Paper So The Bodies Can Be Laid On The Floor Of The Woodbridge Emergency Squad Building On Brook Street."

The Woodbridge Train Crash Stil Remains The Third Worst Train Wreck In United States History.

- The Origional Woodbridge Police Department Was Only A 3 Member Staff Consisting Of - John Omenhiser, John Thompson, And Herman Gerke. That Was In The Turn Of The Century. The Most Serious Problem Was Maybe Unliscenced Dogs Running Through Town. Those Officers Did Not Have Automobiles, They Rode Bicycles. In 1911, Thw Woodbridge Police Force Became Formally Organized. There Was A Total Of 7 Police Officers. In That Time, Immigrants Were Moving Into Woodbridge. Many Of Them Were Not Able To Speak The English Language, Therefore, Many Immigrants Came Into Conflict With American Laws Of The Land.
The First Chief Of Police Was Patrick Murphy. Patrick Cullimane Became The First Uniformed Police Officer. When Police Would Bring Their Prisoner's Back To Police Headquarters By The Trolley. In 1920, The First Police Vehicle Was Put Into Service. In 1935, More Improvements Were made. Motorcycles Were Used To Control Motor Vehicle Violators And A New Radio System Was Put Into Effect. In 1962, The Woodbridge Police Force Was Brought Up To Date, Once Again.
Right Now, The Woodbridge Police Department Has Over 200 Officers, 20 Reserve And Auxilary Officers, And Dozens Of Other Personnel. The Woodbridge Police Department Has Just Become Nationally Acreditated.

- Fire Companies Were Created After Several Historical Buildings Were Destroyed By Fire. For Over 200 Years There Was No Fire Company Throughout Woodbridge.
The Only Fire Fighting Unit Was The Jersey Blues Fire Company In Woodbridge.
In 1893, Harness Shop Owner John Thompson And Woodbridge Postmaster Went Forward To The Woodbridge Town Council. In 1897, The Woodbridge Volunteer Fire Company Was Formed. The First President Was Charles R. Brown. The First Fire Chief Was David A. Brown. In 1901, The First Firehouse Was Built On The Corners Of School Street And Brook Street. The Very First Piece Of Firefighting Equipment Was Chemical Foam Pumpers, Pulled By A Team Of 2 Horses Named Tom And Harry. At That Time, Livery Stables Were Common. The 2 Horses Stayed At Their Stable, Which Was The Carpenter's Livery Stable. The Horses Were Trained That When The Fire Bell Rang, The 2 Horses Left The Pearl Street Stable And Galloped To The School Street Firehouse To Pick Up The Firemen. Unfortuntely And Ironcally, In 1922, The Carpenter Stable Had A Fire That Killed The Horses Tom And Harry.
In 1911, Harry Mawbey Became The First Paid Firefighter. Origionally, Mawbey's Job Name Was "Fire Engine Driver. " Later On, His Job's Name Was Changed To Firefighter In Order To Form A Union. The Union, Local 290, Was Formed And Still Represents Career Firefighters Of The Woodbridge Fire Department.
At This Time, The Woodbridge Fire Department Is Run By Over 55 Volunteers And 25 Career Firefighters, In Addition To 5 Fire Prevention Officers.

Since The Early 1900's, Woodbridge Township Now Has 9 Fire Departments, Mostlly Volunteer.
Woodbridge Township Is Broken Up Into Districts, Or Areas Of Town.
Woodbridge Township First Aid Squads Come Under The Responsibility Of The Fire Departments, However, The Are Independentlly Ran.

Education In Early Woodbridge Township Was Always An Issue. In January Of 1694, Nathaniel Fitzrandolph And John Bloomfield Were Sent To Find A Teacher And School Master. The Township Was Willing To Pay 24 Pounds Per Year. John Browne Had Been Hired As School Master. Then In 1701, 100 Acres Had Been Set Aside In Iselin, (Currently Near Route 1) For The Free School Lands.
On June 15, 1793, The Woodbridge Academy Was Introduced. Jonathan Freeman Built The Schoolhouse On Rahway Avenue And Freeman Street. The Elm Tree Morris Academy Was A Private School At 531 Rahway Avenue. The Professor Was James Stryker.
There Were 2 School Districts In 1840. Strawberry Hill District 7 Near Amboy Avenue And Bunns Lane, And The Woodbridge Academy 6 On Rahway Avenue. Construction Began On School 1, A Centralized School On March 4, 1876. The Location Was On School Street In Downtown Woodbridge, The Same Building That Houses The Administration. School 1 Was Origonaly 71 X 112 Feet, 2 Floors, 6 Apartments, And Seat 400 Students. The Cost To Build Was $25,000.
School 1 Was Dedicated On January 6, 1877. The First Graduating Class Was In 1884, Where 13 Girls And 1 Boy Recieved Their Diplomas.
In 1888, High School Grades Were Seperated From The Elementry Schools.
In The 1870's, Thomas Barron, A Woodbridge Resident Left $50,000 To Woodbridge Township To Build A"Free Public Library With Books And Other Reading Matter."
The Barron Library Opened On September 11, 1877 On The Corner Of Rahway Avenue And Port Reading Avenue. The Building Still Stands And Is The Barron Arts Center.
In 1900, John Love, The Principal Of School 1 Was Named The First Supervisor Of Woodbridge Public Schools.

Churches And Religion Were One Of The Most Important Things In Woodbridge Township. There Has Been Debate To Which Was The First Church In Woodbridge Township - The First Presbyterian Church, Or The Trinity Episcopal Church. The Presbyterian, Or White Church As It Is Often Refered To As Is Dated Back To 1670. The First Worship Service Was Supposed To Have Taken Place In A Private Home Near The Kirk Green. Later On A Building Was Built Near The Present Location.
The Trinity Church Was Founded In 1702, But The Reverend Edward Portlock Held Services In 1698.
The Quakers Built Their Own Church Just Before 1700 And Remained Seperate From The Rest Of Woodbridge.
St. James Roman Catholic Church Was The First Catholic Church In Woodbridge Township. Founded In 1879, St. James Has Gone Through A Few Different Buildings.
As The 1900's Came, Other Religions And Faiths Built Worship Centers In Woodbridge. Such Religions Are Jewish And Reformed.

- Click Here For A Web Page With Information & Pictures Dedicated On Woodbridge Train Wreck -

- Click Here For Pictures And History Of Sewaren

A Copy Of The Charter Of Woodbridge Township.

Woodbridge Township Charter - 1600's - Part 2

Woodbridge Township Charter - 1600's Part - 3

The Jersey Blues Revolutionary Military Squad. -1700's

The Jersey Blues Revolutionary Military Squad. - 1700's

An Old Map Of Early Woodbridge Township - 1600's - 1700's

A Historical Map Of Woodbridge

Another Map Of An Early Woodbridge Township

A Map That Lists Historic References In Woodbridge Township

A Map That Lists Historic References In Woodbridge Township - Part 2

The Origonal Saint James Roman Cathoic Church - Founded In The Middle 1800's, Woodbridge's First Catholic Church`

St. Anthony's Church. Port Reading. One Of The First Catholic Churches In Woodbridge Township.

The Trinity Episcapol Church.

The First Presbyterian Church Of Woodbridge. Also Known as The White Church. -Woodbridge'sOldest Church. The Church just Celebrated It's 325'th Anniversary.

Saint Anthony's Roman Catholic Church, Port Reading

Early 1900's Picture Of Saint James Roman Catholic Church

Saint James Roman Catholic Church

The First Congregational Church, Woodbridge

The First Presbyterian Church Of Woodbridge, The "Kirk Green"

St Anthonys Church

St James Catholic Church

The Woodbridge Trinity Church

Charter Of the Township of Woodbridge -1

Charter Of the Township of Woodbridge -2

Charter Of the Township of Woodbridge -3

Charter Of the Township of Woodbridge -1

Cross keys Tavern - 1700's

Jonathan Dunham's Grist Mill. The First Mill In Woodbridge Township To Process Flour. This was also the first mill of its kind In The State of New Jersey. Currentlly Located On The Property Of The Trinity Episcopal Church - 1600's - 1700's. Mr. Dunham Lived in Massachusetts, but Left to Begin A New Life in New Jersey. He Settled in Woodbridge, and Started a Family. He Built The Mill Alongside The Woodbridge River, Where The Hungarian Manor Currentlly Is.

The Westminister Hotel - Colonia. Used By Revolutionary Soldiers.

Main Street In Downtown Woodbridge.

Another Picture Of Main Street In Downtown Woodbridge.

Early Businesses On Main Street. - 1900's

Rahway Avenue In Woodbridge - 1930's

Another Picture Of New Brunswick Avenue. - 1900's

New Brunswick Avenue Store In Fords

Avenel Street - 1922

The Fords State Bank - One Of The Strongest Banks During The Great Depression - 1930's

Early Woodbridge Township Transportation

The First School Buses - 1940's

A Typical Train That Would Pass Through Woodbridge - 1800's.

The Woodbridge Train Station On Pearl Street - 1900

The Graham House - Iselin Section. Used As A Station For The Pennsylvania Railroad.

Green Street Alongside The Pennsylvania Railroad

A Horse Driven Carriage On Main Street

Musty Golden's Cab - The First Taxi Cab In Woodbridge

The Edgar Train Station - Located Near Rahway Avenue

The Old Woodbridge Town Hall Municipal Building. Built In The 1940's, Demolished To Build A New Complex In 1993. - 1950's

The First Woodbridge Township Public School - No On School Street, Used As Administration Offices

The First Woodbridge Police Officer

The First Woodbridge Police Officers - 1800's

The First Woodbridge Police Officers - 1900's

Woodbridge Police Headquarters - 1960's

The First Woodbrige Police Car - 1900's.
Woodbridge Police Baseball Team

Early Woodbridge Police Officers

Early Woodbridge Police Motorcycle Patrol

The First Woodbridge Fire Headquarters

Early Station 1

Woodbridge Fire Department - 1920

Woodbridge Fire Department - 1933

Woodbridge Fire Department - 1954

Woodbridge Firehouse -1960's

"Tom & Harry" Horse Driven Pumper

First Woodbridge Firefighters

Nibsy The Fire Dog

The Carpenter Livery Stables That Housed The Horses

Woodbridge's White Fire Engine

Woodbridge's First Automotive Pumper

Woodbridge's First Pumper

Fire Headquarters 1920

Horses That Pulled The Pumper

Woodbridge Fire Department Badge

Nibsy The Fire Dog - Woodbridge Fire Department's Mascot

Homecoming Celebration For Captain Kurt Carlsen- January 19, 1952

Homecoming Celebration For Captain Kurt Carlsen- January 19, 1952

Homecoming Celebration For Captain Kurt Carlsen- January 19, 1952

The Woodbridge Train Crash - 1950's

The Jersey Blues - New Jersey Militia

The Jersey Blues - New Jersey Militia

The Jersey Blues - New Jersey Militia

The Jersey Blues - New Jersey Militia

Captain Curt Karlsen

Captain Karlsen's Ship - The Flying Enterprise

Colonia Neighborhood In 1945

Early Woodbridge Schools

Green Street And Rahway Avenue In The 1930's

Richard Janni Propieter Of Jannis's Sweet Shop - Located Near Woodbridge High Shool One Of The Most Popular Places Around

President John F. Kennedy, Then Massachusets Senator Paying A Visit At Majestic Lanes In Hopelawn

Lower Main Street

Another Picture Of Lower Main Street

Main Street And Amboy Avenue

Picture Of The Main Street Fire In 1993 - The A&P And Woolworth's Were Destroyed

The Main Street A&P

Flooding Conditions In The Main Street Area

Main Street 1912

Stores on Downtown Main Street

Old Main Street

Main Street Looking Down Towards where Town Hall is Now.

Older New Brunswick Avenue

Green Street And Rahway Avenue In Woodbridge

Rahway Avenue, Near the Town Hall

Green Street Between Amboy Avenue And Rahway Avenue

Green Street In Woodbridge By The Railroad

Rahway Avenue - Woodbridge, Avenel

Rahway Avenue Near Green Street.- Woodbridge

Adrian Iselin II, The Granddaughter of Iselin's Founder

New Dover Road In Colonia/ Iselin

An Old Picture Of Cliff Road In Sewaren

Teacher Rules That Woodbridge School Teachers Had To Follow

The State Theater - One Of Woodbridge's Most Popular Placces Located Next To Town Hall, Currentlly Where The Quick Check Is

Strawberry Hill, Woodbridge

Vantassel's College In Tavern On Main Street - One Of Woodbridge's Most Popular Places

Woodbridge Avenue & Cliff Road In Sewaren

Woodbridge Is Given The Plaque When Awarded The All American City

Woodbridge Town Hall Dedicated To Homecoming World War 1 Veterans In 1924

The Woodbridge Post Office On Main Street

The Famous Woodbridge Race Track - Presentlly Located At Woodbridge High School Football Field And Track.
Cars Are Still Buried Where The Parking Lot And Grass Is.

Early Woodbridge School 1 On School Street - Now Used As The School District Central Administrative Building

Early Woodbridge Schools

School #1 Woodbridge's very first Elementry School

The First Woodbridge High School - Barron Avenue

The Barron Library, now Barron Arts Center

The First Woodbridge High School on Barron Avenue

Aerial View Of Woodbridge High School.

Fords And Keasbey Elementry School - 1908

Early Woodbridge Township School Buses

Pictures Of The Woodbridge Train Accident

Monument On The Corners Of Main Street, Rahway Avenue, And Berry Street Across From Town Hall - Dedicated To Hometown War Veterans

Monument On The Corners Of Main Street, Rahway Avenue, And Berry Street Across From Town Hall - Dedicated To Hometown War Veterans

Parade In Woodbridge Celebrating The End Of World War 2

Fields in Avenel where Route 1 now Is

Picnic Grounds In Avenel. The Old Maple Tree.

Avenel Street


Arial Picture of Woodbridge

Timothy Bloomfield House

First Congregational Church - Woodbridge

Cross Keys Tavern

Cross Keys Tavern

Hampton Cutter House - Strawberry Hill Woodbridge

JP Edgar's House - Owned farm Between Avenel and Woodbridge Proper during Civil War Times. Mr. Edgar also owned a very large tract of Property extendng far throughout Woodbridge Proper. He actually believed that the South were going to win the Civil War, so he hid most of his money, supposedly by burying it across his land!!!

Fords National Bank

Fords- Keasbey Elementry School - 1908

Stores in Downtown Fords - New Brunswick Avenue

The Graham House Also Train Station Of The Pennsylvania Railroad - Iselin

Grist Mill

Grist Mill

The Home Of Jonathan Dunham

The Home Of Jonathan Dunham

The Home Of Jim Melick

The House Of JP Edgar - Edgar Hill

Old Woodbridge Town Hall

Visitors from New York walking off the ferry to Sewaren (Boynton Beach)

The Pike House

The Home Of Zebulon Pike

The National State Bank, Woodbridge The First Woodbridge Post Office.

The National State Bank, Woodbridge

Westminister Hotel - Colonia

The Woodbridge- Fords Trolley

The First Woodbridge Police Officers

Woodbridge Town Hall

The Woodbridge Township Clay Industries

An Arial Picture Of The Hess Building And The Land That Would Become Woodbridge Center Mall - 1960's

Clay Ships Docking On The Woodbridge River To Carry Clay From Valentine Brick Company.

Clay Pits At The Cutter Clay Works

MD Valentine Brothers Brick Company

Another Picture Of The MD Valentine Brothers Brick Company

The MD Valentine Brothers Brick Factory On Fire In The 1960's

Employees Of The Salamander Clay Company

Clay Banks In Clay Rich Woodbridge

A Clay Factory On The Woodbridge River, Either Salamander or Cutter

A Picture From 1970, Taken From the EPA Showing a Crater Where There was Once Clay Pits. This Location Is On The Property Where Woodbridge Center Mall Now Stands On, Near Metuchen Avenue.

J.J. Bitting Coal Company

The Port Reading Coal Dumper - 1

The Port Reading Coal Dumper - 2

The Port Reading Coal Dumper - 3

Public Service Electric & Gas Generating Station - Sewaren

Shell Oil Company - Sewaren

Shell Oil Company - Sewaren

The Hess Refinery - Port Reading.

The Hess Oil Refinery - Port Reading

Public Service Electric And Gas Company - Sewaren Generating Station

The Reading Coal Company. Port Reading Coal Dumper - 1960's

Another Picture Of The Port Reading Coal Company - 1960's

Woodbridge Train Station

Woodbridge Train Station

Pennsylvania Railroad Station In Iselin

A Landmark of The Revolutionary War

Route 35 Under Route 1 - 1950's

Woodbridge Hotel, Late 1800's

Woodbridge Lumber Company, 1950's

Rahway Prison, Avenel

Rahway Prison Being Built.

Carvel Ice Cream, Woodbridge

Dutch Maid Motel - 1953

An Ashtray from The 300'th Anniversary of Woodbridge Township

Green Street In Woodbridge - 1907

Jim Dale's Clothing Store, Route 1

Jim Weiner Beer

Maple Hill Farms, (Across From Where Woodbridge Center Now Is)

A Bottle From Mauer Beer, Border Of Woodbridge And Perth Amboy.

Rahway Avenue & Green Street

Rahway Avenue, Early 1900's

Early Rahway Prison, Avenel


The Grove Inn, Fords

A Medal Celebrating Woodbridge Town Hall

The Woodbridge Athletic Club

The Early Woodbridge Car Wash

The Woodbridge Livery Stables On Fire

Blacksmith Livery Stable On Pearl Street

Colonia Country Club, 1909

Hampton Cutter- Prall Home, Strawberry Hill Woodbridge

The Ferris Wheel At Boynton Beach, Sewaren

Hiram's Farm, Route 1 (then rt. 25) Avenel

Aerial View of Downtown Woodbridge

Aerial View of Downtown Woodbridge, From the Kruegwer Beer Brewery.

Aerial View of Iselin

Iselin's Fire House on Rt 27 and Green Street.

Iselin Train Station.

Woodbridge Train Station On Pearl Street.

Woodbridge Train Station On Pearl Street.

St. Cecielias R.C. Church, Iselin.

Iselin Trinity Church.

Iselin Post Office on Oak Tree Road.

Oak Tree Road, Iselin.

Corejja Avenue, Iselin.

Neighborhood in Iselin.

Iselin Neighborhood.

Oak Tree Road.

Currency That was Used in New Jersey in Colonial Days.

Currency That was Used in New Jersey in Colonial Days.

Woodbridge Methodist Church.

Holiday Inn, Route 9 (the old Budget Hotel).

Fitzgerald's Farm, (Now Motel) Route 1, Avenel.

Caps from Cooper's Dairy, Wood Ave. Iselin

Caps from Cooper's Dairy, Wood Ave. Iselin